Big night of darts

PUBLISHED: 14:55 25 November 2010

Dereham darts finals sinlgles winner Kevin Walpole, Gemini.

Dereham darts finals sinlgles winner Kevin Walpole, Gemini.


Dereham Area Darts League

The finals nights for both the Men’s and Ladies’ Summer Leagues were held at the Millwrights, Toftwood with Mark, Kerry and Tracey making players very welcome, and at Gressenhall SC, Jane laying on a fantastic buffet.

Singles and doubles competitions were completed on the nights and presentations were made.

Men. Division One Winners: Gemini B. Division One Runner-Up: Gemini A. Division Two Winners: Red Lion. Division Two Runner-Up: Pound Green. Knock-Out Cup Winners: Gemini B. Knock-Out Cup Runner-Up: Gemini A. Sub-Cup Winners: Longham White Horse. Sub-Cup Runner-Up: Red Lion. Singles Winner: Kevin Walpole (Gemini B). Singles Runner-Up: Darren Taylor (Longham White Horse).

Pairs Winner Gerry Ottaway and Jake Anema (Standard). Pairs Runner-Up: Roz Bulmer and Jason Lovett (Gemini B). Highest Outshot: 153 Shaun Wheeler (Longham White Horse). Shortest Game: 15 Kevin Walpole (Gemini B), 15 Jason Lovett (Gemini B), 15 Mark Louis (Gemini A).

180 Certificates were also awarded to: Jason Lovett (Gemini B) x 3, Kevin Walpole (Gemini B) x 2, Kevin Lockwood (Gemini A), Ant Keeble (Gemini A), Ian Thomson (Gemini B), Roz Bulmer (Gemini B), Nick Laverick (Red Lion), Justin Row (Hockering Vic), J Bayliss (Beetley New Inn), A Ferrari (Beetley New Inn), Jake Anema (Standard).

Ladies. Division One Winners: Gressenhall SC. Division One Runner-Up: Mattishall Swan. Division Two Winners: Pound Green. Division Two Runner-Up: Toftwood SC. Knock-Out Cup Winners: Gressenhall SC. Knock-Out Cup Runner-Up: Longham White Horse. Sub-Cup Winners: Pound Green. Sub-Cup Runner-Up: Lakeside. Singles Winner: Avril Twaites (Greseenhall SC). Singles Runner-Up: Dawn Friend (Pound Green).

Pairs Winner: Sue Brittain and Dawn Friend (Pound Green). Pairs Runner-Up: Sue Gilding and Heather Hamblin (Gressenhall SC). Highout Outshot Division One: Laura Cook (Longham White Horse) 122. Shortest Game Division One Lou Gilding (Gressenhall SC) 11. Division Two: Sue Brittain (Pound Green) 12.

Thanks went to both the Millwrights and Gressenhall SC for providing the venue, together with excellent food; Four Trophies from Rash’s Green for providing a great selection of trophies and awards this season; Ian Share for acting as compere for both evenings; all members of the committee and many others who have helped make the whole season, and particularly the finals nights, such a success.

A special note of appreciation went to Roz Bulmer, who has decided to step down as secretary for the league at the end of the summer season. The committee place on record their thanks for all the hard work and effort Roz has put in over the years in making the league a success.

Good luck to all players and teams for the Winter 2010/11 season.


Other Dereham sport

Sunday, February 18, 2018

Dereham saw valuable home points vanish after a late, deflected goal by the visitors.

Friday, February 16, 2018

Dereham hope to maintain their good form as they continue to stake a claim for a play-off place at home to Aveley.

Thursday, February 15, 2018

Following on from their commanding 4-2 victory against Cambridge University II, Dereham travelled down to the capital for their latest East League Premier A fixture.

Sunday, February 11, 2018

Dereham Town maintained their push for promotion with a comfortable 2-0 win at Romford in the Bostik League Division One North.

Most Read

Thursday, February 23, 2012

Dereham’s Marcella Aris is set to swim in the Olympic Trials at the London Aquatic Centre next month.

Read more
Thursday, February 1, 2018

A dozen Dereham runners competed in a fine but breezy 10-mile road race at Freethorpe on Sunday.

Read more
Jake Stearman
Sunday, December 6, 2009


Most of the first division teams were involved in second round matches in the Sound & Vision Junior League Cup.

Read more
Wednesday, October 7, 2009

Eleven-year-old mid-Norfolk school girl Ailish Reeson is celebrating after scooping first place in the Norfolk U13 girls' squash championship for the second year in a row.

Read more
Thursday, June 29, 2017

Dereham athlete Chris Baker competed for Great Britain at the European Team Championships in Lille.

Read more
United Kingdom

Local Weather

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 4°C

min temp: 2°C

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

Read the Dereham Times e-edition today

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter