Former Dereham castle invites visitors to attend biennial open day
- Credit: Archant
A former castle turned retirement complex at Dereham is opening its door for a biennial open day later this month.
The four-storey partially castellated Quebec Hall - or Quebec Castle as it was once known - is a Listed landmark country house, constructed in 1759 by a brewing family.
Based off Quebec Road, it was established as a home for retired Christians in 1960.
On Saturday, July 21, from 3pm, the landscaped grounds will be opened to cater for 200 visitors.
There will be musical entertainment, reports from senior management and trustees and a thanksgiving service conducted by the Rev Roger Prime, a retired Baptist minister from Suffolk.
You may also want to watch:
A tea will also be provided by a team led by Quebec Hall chef John Kelly and visitors will be welcome to explore the hall and its grounds.
Martin Boyce, chairman of the trustees, said: 'It gives us an opportunity to meet our friends, neighbours and supporters, as well as residents' family members, and share with them what has gone on over recent times.'
- 1 Have 'murder hornets' been found in Norfolk?
- 2 Mid Norfolk MP George Freeman returns to government
- 3 Delays on the A47 after crash
- 4 One in eight Breckland adults yet to receive Covid vaccine
- 5 Enhanced play area unveiled following £23,000 revamp
- 6 Three marathons in three weekends - Dereham runner's amazing charity effort
- 7 Hairdresser in contention for prestigious industry award
- 8 Delays on A47 after crash involving lorry
- 9 Dereham Golf Club full of pride after juniors represent Norfolk
- 10 Location revealed for new major music festival with '90s flavour'