Bradenham mark superb season

Bradenham Cricket Club's annual dinner and presentation night was held at The George Hotel, Swaffham on Friday night.

Nearly 70 players and guests attended and heard chairman Tim Evans report on a highly-successful season both on and off the field.

He described how much had been done behind the scenes in securing grants for equipment, securing sponsorship, staging social events including another hugely successful hog roast and dance – and numerous other achievements.

He particularly thanked the committee for their hard work and dedication. He also thanked Dave Bates and Blue Print Mortgages for their main sponsorship over the last three seasons, which had now come to an end.

Turning to on the field, the chairman again reflected on a most successful season.

The first team finished fourth in Division One of the Norfolk Alliance and the A team and Sunday team consolidating their positions in Alliance Division Four and Division One of the Mid-Norfolk Sunday League respectively.

He was particularly pleased with the youth section which continues to thrive with over 60 members playing at U9, U11, U13, U15 and U17. The U17 team performed extremely well in reaching the final of the Junior Carter Cup, losing to Horsford in a very close game.

Most Read

One of the most significant features of the evening was the formal induction of Russell Knights as an honorary life member of the club.

Russell played his first match for Bradenham in 1942 and his final match in 1999, spanning 57 years which the chairman described as 'remarkable.' In the years between, Russell fulfilled various roles as player, groundsman and committee member and becomes only the fourth life member of the club.

The main trophy winners were: Senior teams: First Team player of the year: Brett Stolworthy. A Team PoY: Peter Hills. Sunday PoY: Andy Cole.

Junior teams: U9 PoY: Tyler Murphy. U11 PoY: Matthew Gaskins. U13 PoY: Mateo Henman. U15 PoY: Robbie Clarke. U17 PoY: Lewis Denmark.

Most Improved PoY: Peter Hills. Young PoY: Lewis Denmark. Clubman of the year: Brett Gates.