Bradenham win runs-laden Fisher Cup final

PUBLISHED: 14:36 21 July 2011

Fisher Cup winners Bradenham CC.

Fisher Cup winners Bradenham CC.


The winners of the Fakenham-based Dr Fisher Cup in its 75th year are Bradenham, who beat Mattishall at Highfield Lawn on Friday night in perfect cricket conditions ahead of the next day’s downpour.

Bradenham made a daunting 191 for two with joint men of the match Lewis Denmark (two sixes, six fours) and Mark Hunter (three sixes, nine fours) each scoring 81 not out.

Mattishall gamely replied with 148 for six with Gordon Chetwood making 48 (one six, four fours) and Tom Spalding 37 not out (six fours).

Umpire Jonathan Newell praised participating teams this year who had played in the spirit of the game. He thanked sponsors who had backed each game – the final by Papworth Butchers – and the overall competition sponsors Fakenham Garden Centre.

Club president Gordon Turner praised all those who had helped keep the competition, which started in 1936, going over the years.

He also thanked the umpires and administrator Libby Chaney.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Dereham Times. Click the link in the orange box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad, serving as your advocate and trusted source of local information. Our industry is facing testing times, which is why I’m asking for your support. Every single contribution will help us continue to produce award-winning local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Dereham Times