Busy spell at Dereham Golf Club as two big events take place

Successful golfers at the Dereham Junior Open with club president Mike Hopping. Pictured from left

Successful golfers at the Dereham Junior Open with club president Mike Hopping. Pictured from left to right are: Immy Leeder, Jack Thorps, Hakan Tokbay, Jamie Fox, Emma Bambridge, Jennifer Brown, Poppy Beales, Nellie Ong and Eve Neild. Picture: Dereham GC - Credit: Archant

In this year's most prestigious event at Dereham Golf Club a maximum field of 32 teams of four contested the annual AM AM on Sunday.

Each team needed to return three nett scores per hole playing off their full handicap. Ali Atterwell, Maisie Farrelly, Kay Bates and Heather Clements were the winners with a score of 199, 14 under par.

Second was the team of Nick Hird, Terry Vertigan, Simon Chisholm and Charlotte Chisholm with 200, beating the team of Kevin Joy, Christine Joy, Jane Dunsire and Andy Groves on countback. Many other prizes were awarded for nearest the pins, shortest drive, nearest the line, longest putts and hidden holes.

A raffle and auction also took place, with £740 being raised which will be split between The Brian Cross Memorial Fund and the golf club's project fund. Club captain Ray Wicks and ladies' captain Di Wilkinson expressed their gratitude to all those that took part.

The George Hotel were the main sponsors for this year's event.

Meanwhile the 28th Dereham Golf Club Junior Open saw 31 entrants play for the new Claret Jug and the Rivett Trophy, of which 40 percent were girls.

Competitors came from all over Norfolk and one or two from neighbouring counties. President Mike Hopping started the juniors off the first tee and helpers were situated around the course to help look for wayward balls.

Most Read

At the end of a dry and blustery summer afternoon, the presentations were made by the president. The inaugural winner of the claret jug for the best scratch score was Dereham's Immy Leeder with a gross 73. In second place was Jack Thorpe (Girton) gross 79 and third was Jamie Fox (Bawburgh) gross 80 ocb from Luke Green (Ipswich).

The Rivett Trophy was won by 11-year-old Nellie Ong (Eaton) who shot a net 64 (100-36-64). In second place was Emma Bambridge (Bawburgh) net 65 while Jennifer Brown (net 67, Dereham) was third and Eve Neild (net 68, Royal Norwich) fourth. The day was sponsored by Intelligent Logistics Solutions Ltd.

The captain, ladies captain, president and ladies president sponsored nearest the pin and longest drive prizes.

The winners of these were Poppy Beales from Middleton Hall, Eve Neild from Royal Norwich and Hakan Tokbay from Dereham.