Catches won this match!

CRICKET: Beetley cruised to a resounding 10-wicket win over Gayton as their fielders took eight catches, backing up their bowlers superbly.

David Hoare (4-7) was helped by wicket-keeper Mark Mitchell, a steepler for Simon Densham, Keith Daykin in the deep and Michael Calvert.

Simon Densham took his second catch for Michael Calvert's (1-8) only wicket whilst Chris Densham took a well-judged diving catch at mid-on for Gary Hinchliffe (2-15). Duncan Barrow took his catch, warning off Simon Densham who was trying to claim his third.

The best of the day came from David Hoare, a superb sprawling, one-handed slip catch for James Perkins (3-7), who then bowled the last man as Gayton were dismissed for 43.

Openers Keith Daykin (19no) and Simon Densham (19no) enjoyed a 44-run partnership as Beetley won.

You may also want to watch:

Gayton (1pt): J Reed c M Mitchell b DHoare 0, M Tilbrook c S Densham b M Calvert 0, T Tilbrook c S Densham b D Hoare 0, M Coker c K Daykin b D Hoare 7, S Howard c M Calvert b D Hoare 2, P Kennedy Snr c D Hoare b J Perkins 7, H Pettitt c D Barrow b J Perkins 4, M Haylock c C Densham b G Hinchliffe 1, J Connell b G Hinchliffe 7, M Neil b J Perkins 2, P Kennedy Jnr not out 1. Extras 12. Total 43.

Bowling: D Hoare 6-3-7-4, M Calvert 7-3-8-1, J Perkins 9.4-7-7-3, G Hinchliffe 8-3-15-2.

Most Read

Beetley (20pts): Keith Daykin not out 19, Simon Densham not out 19. Extras 6. Total (o wkts) 44.

Bowling: M Tilbrook 4-1-14-0, S Howard 6-2-8-0, P Kennedy jnr 3.3-1-16-0, M Haylock 1-0-3-0.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter