Dereham Runners tackle New Year’s Day challenge

PUBLISHED: 17:11 02 January 2018

Stephen Lee of Dereham Runners at the Wymondham New Year's Day race. Picture: Wymondham AC

Stephen Lee of Dereham Runners at the Wymondham New Year's Day race. Picture: Wymondham AC


Late night celebrations notwithstanding, nine members of Dereham Runners AC managed to get to the start line for the annual New Year’s Day 10k race at Wymondham — some of them thankful for the mid-morning start.

Now in its 14th year, the popular race starts and finishes in Lady’s Lane, following an undulating route on quiet country lanes out towards Morley St Botolph.

Tea and cakes generated funds for local cancer support charity Star Throwers. A total of 634 runners crossed the finish line, the fastest - American visitor Ben Fletcher - in an impressive time of 31.59.

The fastest Dereham Runners entrant was Stephen Lee, who finished in just 42.41, closely followed by Dan Roberts just a second later.

This placed Steve and Dan as 69th and 70th finishers overall.

Club secretary Emma Potter-Campbell came home in 47.48 and veteran member Michael Barrett in 49.11.

Other Dereham runners and their times were Paul Richardson (50.41), Philip Websdale (52.27), Gill Woodhouse (54.55), Jacquie Wood (56.50) and Jan Totterdale (1:00.24).

A dozen North Norfolk Beach Runners also took part in the race, organised by Wymondham Athletic Club.

First home among them, eighth overall and third in the M 40-44 category, was Neil Adams in 35.56, followed closely by Chris Merrylees (senior) in 11th overall with a time of 36.34. Meanwhile, Tony Whitmond, new kid on the block in the 50 to 54 section, was third in category and 35th overall with a time of 40.03.

First lady Beach Runner home was Charlotte Neale (senior) 37th overall and second in category with a time of 40.11, followed by Rebecca Maun (45-49) 120th overall and third in category with a time of 45.39.

Meanwhile, soon-to-be-Super Seventy Sam Weller (65+) cruised home in 163rd overall but an impressive first in category with a time of 47.14, a clear two minutes ahead of his nearest challenge.

Winner Fletcher came home a minute ahead of his nearest rival, James Senior of City of Norwich AC, who recorded a time of 32:59. George Gay was third overall on 33:41.

Ruth Senior, the winner’s girlfriend, was first female in an impressive time of 38:17. Rowenna Leary of Norfolk Gazelles was third female in 41:40.


Welcome , please leave your message below.

Optional - JPG files only
Optional - MP3 files only
Optional - 3GP, AVI, MOV, MPG or WMV files

Please log in to leave a comment and share your views with other Dereham Times visitors.

We enable people to post comments with the aim of encouraging open debate.

Only people who register and sign up to our terms and conditions can post comments. These terms and conditions explain our house rules and legal guidelines.

Comments are not edited by Dereham Times staff prior to publication but may be automatically filtered.

If you have a complaint about a comment please contact us by clicking on the Report This Comment button next to the comment.

Not a member yet?

Register to create your own unique Dereham Times account for free.

Signing up is free, quick and easy and offers you the chance to add comments, personalise the site with local information picked just for you, and more.

Sign up now

Other Dereham sport

Sunday, December 9, 2018

Bostik North leaders Bowers & Pitsea powered their way to a 3-1 win at Dereham Town.

Friday, December 7, 2018

Dereham are in for another tough test when Bowers & Pitsea visit Aldiss Park.

Saturday, December 1, 2018

A young Norfolk racing driver is set to take his next step in the pursuit of a professional career in motorsport when he races a Mini in a prestigious tournament next year.

Wednesday, November 28, 2018

This newspaper and Bullards are offering four lucky people the chance to spend an exclusive day behind the scenes at Norwich City Football Club’s training ground.

Most Read

Thursday, April 8, 2010

THE Fakenham and District Darts League finals night was held at Fakenham Press Social Club, trophies presented by league chairperson J Williamson.

Honours - Division One winners Press B, runners-up Maltings; Division Two winners Horny Pony, runners-up Hempton Bell.

Read more

Local Weather

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 7°C

min temp: 1°C

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

Read the Dereham Times e-edition today

Newsletter Sign Up

Dereham Times weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy