Hewitt and Battelley set pace

Dereham A secured a thrilling victory in the final over to cap a superb all-round team display at Saxlingham A.

John Fox, making his first appearance on his return to Dereham, grabbed the last wicket to ensure maximum points and help the team climb up Alliance Division Six.

Stand-in skipper Ian Battelley led by example as he carried his bat for 94 not out, proving what a fine batsman he still is. The 67-year-old opener has now scored 328 runs this season at an average of 65 and it is the second time he has batted right through all 46 overs.

He was supported by Matt Henman who got four fours and three sixes in his 52 and also by Jack West who got 32.

Dereham A reached 219-3 and their bowlers then backed up the batsmen.

Tom Clarke (3-19) and Liam O'Callaghan (3-48) were the most successful bowlers and Bradley Raper (1-37), Fox (2-20) and Battelley (1-22) also got wickets.

Saxlingham A desperately tried to hang on for a losing draw but Fox proved the winner as he bowled Hedges with the penultimate ball of the match.

Most Read

Dereham A entertain Beccles A on Saturday, 1pm.

Dereham A: I Battelley not out 94, L Cameron c Killbourne b Lawrence 0, J West c Killbourne b Tweedie 32, M Henman run out 52, D Barrett not out 5, extras 35. Total (3 wkts) 219. Bowling: Lawrence 11-3-47-1, Neave 10-3-20-0, Hedges 12-0-60-0, Mendham 4-0-22-0, Benton 6-1-18-0, Vinson 3-0-13-0, Tweedie 2-0-6-1.

Saxlingham A: M English b T Clarke 55, M Tweedie b Fox 20, J Vincent b Battelley 0, R English b Raper 46, O Hill c Cameron b T Clarke 1, O Killbourne b T Clarke 3, F Benton c Henman b O'Callaghan 0, C Neave b O'Callaghan 10, M Hedges b Fox 5, A Lawrence c Henman b O'Callaghan 5, J Mendham not out 0, extras 33. Total 177. Bowling: B Raper 11-2-37-1, L O'Callaghan 12-1-48-3, J Fox 8.5-2-20-2, I Battelley 6-2-22-1, T Clarke 6-2-19-0, D Barrett 2-0-17-0.

Dereham B put themselves back in the promotion race in West Norfolk League Division Five by thrashing Denver A on Saturday.

Dereham found early runs difficult to come by and had just 37 on the board when Mark Taylor was out caught behind.

Captain Sam Widdows and Zak Baker began to get the scoreboard with a partnership of 66, before Widdows was caught behind just three short of a half-century. Nic Bliss (17) and Rob Mabee fell in quick succession to leave Dereham on 136-4.

Tom Simpson began to play some shots and the run rate shot up. Baker reached a deserved 50 before being given out lbw. Simpson made a typically quickfire 55 and he and Ian Clarke (21) put on 45 in the last five overs as Dereham made 227-7, their highest score of the season.

In reply, Ryan Widdows removed Rolfe with the first ball of the innings and continued to bowl an impressive line and length, finishing with excellent figures of 4-32 from his 12 overs.

Some big hitting pushed the Denver score along, but they lost wickets at regular intervals. Neal Widdows picked up two wickets thanks to two excellent catches from Josh Barber, whilst spinner Mabee picked up the final two wickets, with Barber taking his third catch in an excellent fielding display.

Dereham travel to face Gooderstone A on Saturday.

Dereham B: S Widdows ct R Rolfe b Watts 47, M Taylor ct R Rolfe b Khattra 9, Z Baker lbw b Palmer 50, N Bliss ct R Rolfe b Watts 17, T Simpson run out 55, I Clarke b Watts 21, R Widdows not out 0, J Crane not out 2. Extras: 21. Total: 227 for 7. Bowling: B Watts 11-0-57-4, A Khattra 12-0-33-1, G Lawrence 7-0-38-0, J Smolen 5-0-28-0, M Palmer 8-0-48-1, J Marshall-Grint 2-0-20-0.

Denver A: R Rolfe lbw b R Widdows 0, S Kent ct Clarke b Simpson 3, M Linford ct S Widdows b R Widdows 23, J Harper ct Barber b N Widdows 36, S Carr ct Clarke b R Widdows 17, A Khattra ct Barber b N Widdows 10, J Marshall-Grint run out 0, J Smolen not out 16, M Palmer ct&b R Widdows 0, B Watts ct Baker b Mabee 6, G Lawrence ct Barber b Mabee 0. Extras: 8. Total: 121. Bowling: R Widdows 12-2-32-4, T Simpson 7-0-35-1, N Widdows 5-0-33-2, R Mabee 2.3-1-5-2, I Clarke 2-0-12-0.

Dereham's Sunday side claimed only their second league win of the season as they beat local rivals Mattishall with Duncan Hewitt making an unbeaten century.

Dereham struggled early on as Neal Widdows and David Lake fell cheaply. When Jon Crisp also departed Dereham were 45-3.

Neil Irons and Hewitt began to rebuild the innings with a series of fierce shots as they compiled a century partnership. Irons was eventually dismissed for a well-made 58 from 61 balls but Hewitt kept going and reached his century in the final over of the innings, taking 87 balls to reach the landmark. Dereham finished on 222-7 from their 40 overs.

Gary Starling and Max Cheetham both picked up early wickets as Mattishall struggled. Jake Anema's slow bowling picked up another four wickets whilst Lee Hoggett and Lake also picked up wickets, as Mattishall were dismissed for 134.

Dereham Sunday: N Widdows ct b Cole 0, D Lake ct b Hawkins 11, J Crisp ct b Hawkins 16, N Irons ct&b Cross 58, D Hewitt not out 100, L Hoggett b D Weber 17, J P West b D Weber 0, L Cameron b Cross 0, J Anema not out 8. Total: 222-7. Bowling: J Cole 5-0-13-1, R Hawkins 6-0-23-2, C Weber 9-0-49-0, T Grant 6-0-25-0, J Grant 4-0-29-0, M Cross 6-0-41-2, D Weber 4-0-36-2.

Mattishall: D Weber lbw Anema 30, J Grant ct b Cheetham 11, T Spalding ct&b Starling 2, T Fordham ct Irons b Starling 0, M Cross lbw Anema 18, O Hubbard st Cameron b Anema 9, J Cole b Lake 39, C Weberct Crisp b Hoggett 0, T Grantct Starling b Anema 5, L Goodeylbw Lake 10, R Hawkins not out 1, Total: 134. Bowling: G Starling 7-3-12-2, M Cheetham 7-1-29-1, J Anema 10-1-35-4, L Hoggett 5-0-27-1, D Lake 4.5-0-27-2.