Major cricket competition to be revised

CRICKET: The Carter Cup, which Fakenham won this season, is set to continue next year in a slightly revised format despite a troubled 2010 season for the prestigious competition.

Three clubs were banned from the competition after failing to fulfil fixtures this season in the Lady Mary Trophy – the competition for teams knocked out in the first round of the Carter Cup.

The competition, which began in 1969, had already started the year with three vacancies and after announcing the decision to ban three more clubs, organisers promised a review to decide upon its future.

Carter Cup chairman John Bettridge said that member clubs had been consulted about a revised format for the 60-over Sunday competition and added: 'I am pleased to say that the response has indicated overwhelming support for it to continue and the acceptance of a new format to meet the ever-changing circumstances surrounding today's recreational game.'

The new format would retain 60-over matches, with 16 clubs entering the first round draw. The East Anglian Premier League clubs, plus Fakenham – who were relegated from the EAPL this year – and Alliance champions Downham would join at the second round stage.

In subsequent years, the eight teams joining in the second round will be the previous season's quarter-finalists.

The Lady Mary Trophy, which was played as a Twenty20 competition this year, would become a 40-over competition.

Most Read

The competition committee will now meet to finalise the details, which will be presented to the AGM in November.