Mattishall and Swanton Morley cricket clubs receive Clubmark awards

MATTISHALL and Swanton Morley were among the clubs receiving Clubmark awards recently.

The Clubmark programme now boasts 34 clubs in Norfolk, demonstrating the value placed on this by clubs and the Norfolk Cricket Board who support and manage the process locally. Ten clubs have been through the re-accreditation process in 2011, as well as two clubs accredited for the first time.

These 12 clubs were presented with their certificates at the recent NCB club seminar at Dereham Football Club which was attended by nearly 60 people from 28 Norfolk clubs.

Development manager for the Norfolk Cricket Board, Kieron Tuck said: 'Most people involved in cricket now understand how important Clubmark is to the way cricket clubs are run and perceived in their local communities, and this year we wanted to reinforce that message by celebrating the achievement of these clubs in front of their peers.

'As always, if any clubs are considering undertaking this award then simply contact the Norfolk Cricket Board for further advice or visit'

The two new clubs were Mattishall and Hethersett & Tas Valley, and the clubs achieving re-accreditation were Horsford, Swardeston, Old Buckenham, Swanton Morley, Rocklands, Stow, Thetford, Vauxhall Mallards, Mundford and Sheringham.

Nearly a third of all clubs in the county are now accredited.

Most Read

The Clubmark standard indicates that a club is well managed, and runs safe, effective and child friendly programmes, as well as demonstrating a wider commitment to club development and community cricket participation.